You are here: Home / The National Quality Standards for Residential Care

The National Quality Standards for Residential Care


It is widely recognised that Ireland is at a cross roads in the way we, as a society, care for our older people.  In times past, the extended family meant that as people grew older they remained in the family home cared for by their relatives.  This is no longer the norm, with more and more people moving into residential care settings as they grow older.  This raises challenges in terms of how we protect the rights of older people who live in residential care settings and ensure that they are able to lead as full lives as possible in a caring, respectful environment.

In response to this challenge, The National Quality Standards for Residential Care Settings for Older People have been developed by the Health Information and Quality Authority (HIQA).  They set out what a quality, safe service for an older person living in a residential care setting should be.  For service providers, these Standards provide a road map of continuous improvement to support the continued development of person-centred care.  The delivery of quality services to older people is a shared priority

The National Quality Standards for Residential Care Settings for Older People will not, by themselves, bring about a transformation from institutional to more person-centred models of care.  This will require a significant cultural shift in our society.  It will require a concerted effort on the part of all relevant national, regional and local healthcare agencies; courageous and imaginative leadership on the part of the owners and managers of residential care settings and the support of staff willing to be directed in their work by the expressed needs and preferences of residents. It will require that staff are encouraged and are valued by their organisations and by society for their contribution to the wellbeing of older people living in residential care settings in Ireland.  The National Quality Standards do, however, provide an important roadmap for both service providers and users, for the development of person-centred models of care which are driven by a respect for the rights of older people and are focused on quality of life measures meaningful to individual residents.

The standard is made up of the following 7 key principles:

  • Rights
  • Protection
  • Health and Social Care Needs
  • Quality of Life
  • Staffing
  • The Care Environment
  • Governance and Management

These principles are in turn underpinned by 32 individual standards

If you are in the business of providing residential care, call Jordan Business Systems today and let us show how you can meet these essential standards.